Our network

New DeKalb board members sworn in | Schools

Title (Max 100 Characters)

New DeKalb board members sworn in
New DeKalb board members sworn in

ATLANTA -- Gov. Nathan Deal announced Wednesday six names to replace six ousted DeKalb County School Board members. 

The new board members -- John Coleman, Michael Erwin, David Campbell, Joyce Morley, Karen Carter and Thaddeus Mayfield -- were sworn in during a ceremony at the DeKalb County Schools administrative headquarters at 1 p.m. 

MORE | Continuing coverage of DeKalb school issues

Deal says a selection panel interviewed about 60 applicants from a field of more than 400. Deal said he's encouraged by the candidates' qualifications and their credentials are a testament to the residents of DeKalb County.

DeKalb County is the state's third-largest school district, serving about 99,000 students. It was placed on probation in December by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools following a six-month investigation.

In a report, the accreditation agency cited long-term leadership issues including nepotism, fiscal mismanagement, inappropriate micromanagement and intimidation within the district.


Dunwoody Deals