Our network

Dekalb Foreclosure Registry Begins on October 27th | Real Estate

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Dekalb Foreclosure Registry Begins on October 27th
Real Estate

Atlanta, GA--  DeKalb County will launch its Foreclosure Registry, Wednesday, Oct. 27.  The DeKalb County Foreclosure Registry was established as a means to protect neighborhoods from becoming blighted as a result of the lack of adequate maintenance and security caused by the foreclosure crisis.

Creditors or mortgagees who foreclose on a property after Oct. 27 will have up to 30 days following the foreclosure sale to register the property with DeKalb County and pay a fee of $175.  Creditors or mortgagees located outside the geographical boundaries of Clayton, DeKalb, Fulton, Gwinnett, Henry, and Rockdale Counties are required to designate a local property agent located within these geographical boundaries to ensure security and maintenance of the property.

The local property agent must have the authority to ensure security and maintenance of the property; comply with code enforcement orders issued by the county; provide trespass authorization upon request of an enforcement officer; conduct inspections of the property; accept rental payments from tenants, if no management company is otherwise employed; and serve as an agent authorized to receive code enforcement citations and notices pertaining to any court proceeding or administrative enforcement.

Failure to register a foreclosed property, designate and list a local property agent on the registration form, or report a change in contact information to the County will be a violation of the ordinance and will be subject to a penalty of $1,000 per day, per real property, not to exceed $100,000 per real property, per calendar year.

The registration form is available online at www.dekalbcountyga.gov/foreclosureregistry. For additional information, visit www.dekalbcountyga.gov/foreclosureregistry

Real Estate